Department of Medical Toxicology

Return to faculty & staff listing

Faculty & Staff

AO Photo

Ayrn O'Connor, MD, FACMT

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Program Director, UACOMP Medical Toxicology Fellowship

Board Certifications Emergency Medicine
Medical Toxicology
Fellowship Indiana University
Residency Indiana University

Recent Publications

Peer-Reviewed Research Articles

  1. Curry SC, Padilla-Jones A, Ruha AM, O'Connor AD, Kang AM, Wilkins DG, Jaeschke H, Wilhelms K, Gerkin RD, Acetaminophen Adduct Study Group. The Relationship Between Circulating Acetaminophen-Protein Adduct Concentrations and Alanine Aminotransferase Activities in Patients With and Without Acetaminophen Overdose and Toxicity. J Med Toxicol. 2019 Apr 12. doi: 10.1007/s13181-019-00705-2. [Epub ahead of print]
  2. O'Connor AD, Padilla-Jones A, Ruha MR. Severe bark scorpion envenomation in adults. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2017 Jul 28:1-5. doi: 10.1080/15563650.2017.1353095. [Epub ahead of print]
  3. Levine M, O'Connor AD, Padilla-Jones A and Gerkin RD. Comparison of prothrombin time and aspartate aminotransferase in predicting hepatotoxicity after acetaminophen overdose. J Med Toxicol. 2016;12:100-6. doi:10.1007/s13181-015-0504-x.
  4. Curry SC, Padilla-Jones A, O’Connor AD, et al (2014). Prolonged acetaminophen-protein adduct elimination during renal failure, lack of adduct removal by hemodiafiltration, and urinary adduct concentrations after acetaminophen overdose. J Med Toxicol. Doi: 10.1007/s13181-014-0431-2.

Books/Book Chapters

  1. EMRA and ACMT Medical Toxicology Guide. Katz KK and O'Connor AO, Eds. Emergency Medicine Residents' Association; 2018.
  2. O'Connor AO and Mills KC. Monoamine oxidase inhibitors. In: Brent J, Burkhart K, Dargan P, et al, eds. Critical Care Toxicology, 2nd ed. Cham, Springer International Publishing; 2017.
  3. Curry SC, Mills KC, O'Connor AD, Graeme K, Skolnik AS. Neurotransmitters and Neuromodulators. In: Nelson LS et al eds. GoldFrank's Toxicologic Emergencies. 10th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill; 2013.